Max Peiffer Watenphul
Foreword to the Exhibition Catalogue
“Max Peiffer Watenphul zum 70. Geburtstag”
(Max Peiffer Watenphul on His Seventieth Birthday) in Salzburg, 1966

In my view, it is superfluous to write about paintings because they must speak for themselves. That is what they are made for. Paintings that require instructions are absurd.

I believe that one can have a natural sense for paintings, and that one must be inwardly open to them. This sense cannot be acquired. Just as there are people who have understanding and love for gemstones, and others who have an understanding and love for plants, so, too, there are people who possess an innate sense for the inner values of a painting. The latter people have had this sense while the Impressionists were being ridiculed, the painters of Die Brücke mocked as dumb daubers, and Paul Klee was being dismissed as a childish scribbler.

It is the same in music and in poetry: one man is deeply moved by a line of Georg Trakl’s and it leaves another man entirely cold.

So, my works should also have their effect without explanation, entirely as a matter of course, and only through themselves.

They have arisen through my love for the Mediterranean and its world. Those who love antiquity, the landscape with its olive trees and the silver foliage that is almost always changing, with its cypresses, the clear outline of its mountaintops, and its “purple gulfs” will find this love in my paintings and be unable to evade its magic.

Although my paintings live from tradition, only a person of today can portray this world in the way I have sought to make it into a painting. It was Jean Cocteau who wrote to me: “Un peintre peint toujours son propre portrait, quoiqu’il peigne. En regardant vos tableaux, je vous vois. Assez sombre, comme lorsqu’on aime.”

In Max Peiffer Watenphul. Werkverzeichnis, vol. I. Grace Watenphul Pasqualucci and Alessandra Pasqualucci, eds. (Cologne, 1989).

Max Peiffer Watenphul
Vorwort zum Katalog der Ausstellung
»Max Peiffer Watenphul zum 70. Geburtstag« in Salzburg, 1966

Über Bilder zu schreiben, ist meiner Ansicht nach überflüssig, denn sie müssen für sich selbst reden; dafür sind sie entstanden. Bilder, die eine Gebrauchsanweisung nötig haben, sind widersinnig.

Ich glaube, daß man für Bilder ein natürliches Gefühl haben und für sie innerlich offen sein muß. Dieses Gefühl kann man nicht erwerben. Wie es Menschen gibt, die für Edelsteine und andere, die für Pflanzen Verständnis und Liebe haben, so gibt es auch solche, die ein angeborenes Gefühl für die inneren Werte eines Bildes besitzen. Letztere hatten dieses Gefühl, als die Impressionisten verlacht, die Brückemaler als dumme Schmierer verhöhnt wurden und man Paul Klee als kindischen Kritzler abtat.

Es ist wie in der Musik oder in der Dichtung: den einen rührt eine Zeile von Trakl bis ins Innerste, den anderen läßt sie völlig kalt.

So sollen auch meine Werke ohne Erklärung ganz selbstverständlich und nur durch sich selbst wirken.

Sie sind entstanden aus der Liebe zum Mittelmeer und seiner Welt. Wer die Antike liebt, die Landschaft mit ihren Ölbäumen und dem silbernen Laub, das sich immerzu verändert, mit ihren Zypressen, ihren klaren Berglinien, ihren »Purpurgolfen«, der wird sie in meinen Bildern wiederfinden und wird sich ihrem Zauber nicht entziehen können.

So leben sie zwar aus der Tradition, aber nur ein Mensch von heute kann diese Welt so gestalten, wie ich versucht habe, sie Bild werden zu lassen. Es war Jean Cocteau, der mir schrieb: »Un peintre peint toujours son popre portrait, quoiqu’il peigne. En regardant vos tableaux, je vous vois. Assez sombre, comme lorsqu’on aime.«

In: Max Peiffer Watenphul. Werkverzeichnis. Bd. I. Hg. von Grace Watenphul Pasqualucci und Alessandra Pasqualucci, Köln 1989.