1914–1918

Platzhalterbild
As a university student in Bonn, 1914

Max Peiffer took his university entrance examinations (Abitur) in Hattingen in 1914. At the urging of his parents, he went to Bonn that autumn to study medicine. He soon proved unsuited for the field, however, and switched to law. He attended the universities of Strasbourg, Frankfurt am Main, and Munich, receiving his doctorate in church law in Würzburg in 1918, and taking the state law clerkship examination. He was the youngest law clerk in Prussia.

He encountered works of contemporary art for the first time during his university years in Munich. The artist remarked at the time: “My favorite thing was to go to the little Goltz art dealership on Brienner Strasse, where I regularly saw the changing exhibitions. Such a visit had something of the forbidden, the adventurous about it.” (B. Bilzer, Peiffer Watenphul (Göttingen, 1974), p. 5). At Goltz, he saw works by Paul Klee for the first time, and resolved to visit him.

Lotte Pritzel arranged the meeting with Klee. When Max Peiffer sought him out at his apartment in Schwabing to ask him to teach him to paint, Klee declined, smiling that he was hardly a teacher, and referred him to the painter Stanislaus Stückgold. Peiffer did not like Stückgold’s teaching, however. He asked Klee again, and Klee promised to correct his works. In 1918, Peiffer was called up for military duty and sent to Mülheim an der Ruhr for training as an infantry lieutenant. The end of the war prevented his deployment to the front.

1914–1918

Platzhalterbild
Als Student in Bonn, 1914
Im Jahr 1914 machte Max Peiffer sein Abitur in Hattingen und ging im Herbst 1914 nach Bonn, um auf Wunsch der Eltern Medizin zu studieren. Doch bald erwies er sich als ungeeignet für dieses Fach und wählte Jura. Er besuchte die Universitäten Straßburg, Frankfurt am Main und München, promovierte im Jahr 1918 über Kirchenrecht in Würzburg und machte das Referendarexamen. Er war der jüngste Referendar in Preußen.

Während seiner Studienjahre in München begegnete er zum ersten Mal Werken der zeitgenössischen Kunst. Der Künstler äußerte sich über seine Münchener Jahre: »Am liebsten ging ich in die kleine Kunsthandlung Goltz an der Briennerstraße, wo ich im ersten Stock die wechselnden Ausstellungen regelmäßig besuchte. Ein solcher Besuch hatte etwas von Verbotenem, Gewagtem an sich« (B. Bilzer, Peiffer Watenphul, Göttingen 1974, S. 5). In der Kunsthandlung Goltz sah er zum ersten Mal Arbeiten von Paul Klee und beschloss, ihn aufzusuchen.

Lotte Pritzel vermittelte die Bekanntschaft mit Klee. Als Max Peiffer ihn in seiner Schwabinger Wohnung aufsuchte, um ihn um Malstunden zu bitten, lehnte Klee lächelnd ab, er sei kein Lehrer, und verwies ihn an den Maler Stanislaus Stückgold. Der Unterricht gefiel Peiffer jedoch nicht. So bat er erneut Klee, der ihm versprach, seine Arbeiten zu korrigieren. 1918 wurde Peiffer zum Militärdienst eingezogen und kam zur Ausbildung zum Infanterieleutnant nach Mülheim an der Ruhr, doch verhinderte das Ende des Krieges seinen Fronteinsatz.