Max Peiffer Watenphul
German Degenerate Art and Biennale
November, 1948

Iconoclasms have been quite common over the course of history: new ideas, largely religious in nature, arose. The old was fought against, and the old symbols and images removed and destroyed.

One of the best organized iconoclasms was that of National Socialism, against everything that did not provide artistic service to its ideas. That was comfortably termed “Degenerate Art,” and it had to be removed. Generally, this attitude was thoroughly agreeable to the mass of the middle class, who greeted it with great joy. Finally, there was no need any more to guess around about a work of visual art. Instead, one could take pleasure in paintings that looked like colorized photographs and served an idea or offered cheap fantasies of wish-fulfillment.

Painters who accommodated these Party demands were courted, compensated, and much celebrated. Painters who did not conform to these requirements were, at least in theory, preordained to starve to death. They could not exhibit, could not sell, and, since not members of the Reich’s Chamber of Culture, they received no painting supplies.

Naturally, it was different in practice. Artists continued to be supported by their old collectors; friends gave them paint and painting supplies (for which there
was a black market of sorts), and thus, nearly all the artists declared to be degenerate survived this critical time. None had a bed of roses.

An infamous exhibition in Munich displayed specimens of what was to be understood as degenerate. Every important name in modern German art was represented. People from special commissions made the rounds at every museum in Germany, indiscriminately removing every modern painting.

The outcome of these cleansing offensives is appalling. Every German museum lost its entire holdings of modern art. Since foreign artists were not given
special treatment, the paintings of Pablo Picasso, André Derain, Georges Braque, Paul Gauguin, Edvard Munch, and others were also indiscriminately removed,
and the museums deprived of very important works. In this way, the Munich gallery, for example, lost ninety-eight paintings, the significant museum in Mönchengladbach, 100 paintings, Nuremberg, 120 works, Hanover, 270 works. Some of these were sold at a famous auction in Lucerne. Others disappeared, and no one knows what became of them. The artists themselves continued to work in Germany in quiet anonymity. George Grosz and Max Ernst left the country in advance of National Socialism, and others emigrated later: Max Beckmann, Oskar Kokoschka, Paul Klee.

Many spent most of their time abroad (Max Peiffer Watenphul, for example), and others, like Otto Dix, lived very quietly in the countryside.

For the artists of older modern art, artists who were already formed and already had their artistic vision, the time was difficult, but bearable. It was catastrophic for the young people and the pupils who lived entirely cut off from the world, who did not know what was being done on the outside, and who never had the opportunity to see a modern work of art.

Naturally, the international public had a very great interest in German art, art that, having lived so long behind an iron curtain of its own, was, at last, now able to appear again at an event like the Biennale. What had German artists achieved in the intervening years? Where were the youth?

Unfortunately, the disappointment in the German section of the Biennale was quite great. Most of the familiar names were represented, along with certain young artists, but they absolutely could not keep up with the otherwise high level of the exhibition. This is most regrettable, though less attributable to the momentary accomplishments of German artists than to entirely other matters. The German art works were assembled in great haste at the last minute. There were difficulties in transportation, limitations in dimensions, and other complications. The German section can hardly be accepted as an overview of what has been done in Germany in recent years. In addition, certain very important names (Emil Nolde, Beckmann, Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, and others) were missing. Others who were once regarded as representatives of German art were hung separately (Klee, Kokoschka). Others living in Italy (Peiffer Watenphul, Eduard Bargheer) were also not hung in the German section.

Thus, the German space provides absolutely no proper impression of German art over the last fifteen years. Dix is very weakly represented, and likewise, so is Karl Hofer, Max Pechstein, and Erich Heckel.

The middle generation is almost entirely absent, and not one of the young artists on display shows a face of his own; they all paint in the manner of Klee, Picasso, or Ernst. Just like how the young painters paint in Buenos Aires, Rome, London, and New York.

Here, it is most important to note again the great influence of the Bauhaus (Klee, Wassily Kandinsky, Lyonel Feininger taught there, among others). The experiments that were made there in 1921 by a small, dismissed circle have now become common knowledge, and almost popular (I call to mind only the steel furniture that the Bauhaus propagated, the clear, simple, bright walls without patterns, the entirely modern architecture).

A collection like the Guggenheim, and the section, for example, devoted to young Italians, has exactly the same effect as one of the Bauhaus exhibitions of the time, with numerous experiments by students in glass, wire, metal, and other materials and the various compositions and abstractions. But what was novel and unique then, often seems empty and antiquated today, for unique things cannot be repeated. The first paintings by Klee and Picasso were a deed, a daring, and an adventure into regions unknown. The students’ repetitions and the imitations are an empty, worthless affair that will not turn further the wheel of art.

In Max Peiffer Watenphul. Werkverzeichnis, vol. I. Grace Watenphul Pasqualucci and Alessandra Pasqualucci, eds. (Cologne, 1989).

Max Peiffer Watenphul
Deutsche Entartete Kunst und Biennale
[November 1948]

Bilderstürme sind im Laufe der Geschichte recht häufig gewesen: neue Ideen, meist religiöser Art, tauchten auf. Das Alte wurde bekämpft, die alten Symbole und Bilder wurden entfernt und vernichtet.

Einer der besten organisierten Bilderstürme war der des Nationalsozialismus gegen alles, was künstlerisch nicht seinen Ideen diente. Es wurde bequemerweise als Entartete Kunst bezeichnet und sollte entfernt werden. Im Grunde kam diese Einstellung dem mittleren Bürgertum durchaus entgegen und wurde von ihm freudigst begrüßt. Endlich brauchte man vor einem Bildwerke nicht mehr herumzurätseln, man konnte sich an Bildern, die wie kolorierte Photos aussahen und einer Idee dienten oder in billiger Weise Wunschträume erfüllten, erfreuen.

Maler, die diesen Forderungen der Partei entgegenkamen, wurden hofiert und bezahlt und sehr gefeiert. Maler, die sich diesen Forderungen nicht fügten, waren theoretisch eigentlich zum Hungertode bestimmt, sie konnten nicht ausstellen, nicht verkaufen, und sie bekamen, da sie nicht zur Reichskulturkammer gehörten, kein Malmaterial.

In der Praxis war es dann natürlich doch anders. Die alten Sammler unterstützten die Künstler weiterhin, Freunde schenkten ihnen Farben und Material (für die es eine Art von Schwarzmarkt gab), und so überlebten fast alle als entartet erklärten Künstler diese kritische Zeit. Auf Rosen war keiner gebettet.

In einer berüchtigten Ausstellung in München wurde an Beispielen gezeigt, was als entartet aufzufassen sei. Hier waren alle bedeutenden Namen der modernen deutschen Kunst vertreten. Spezielle Kommissionen machten die Runden durch alle Museen Deutschlands und entfernten rücksichtslos jedes moderne Bild.

Die Bilanz dieser Reinigungsaktionen ist erschreckend. Alle deutschen Museen haben ihren gesamten Besitz an moderner Kunst verloren. Da man auch vor ausländischen Künstlern nicht haltmachte, wurden auch die Bilder von Picasso, Derain, Braque, Gauguin, Munch etc. rücksichtslos entfernt und die Museen um sehr bedeutende Werke gebracht. Die Münchener Galerie z. B. verlor auf diese Weise 98 Gemälde, das bedeutende Museum in Mönchen-Gladbach 100 Bilder, Nürnberg 120 Arbeiten, Hannover 270 Werke. Ein Teil davon wurde auf einer berühmten Auktion in Luzern versteigert. Andere verschwanden, und man weiß nicht, wohin. Die Künstler selber arbeiteten still in der Anonymität in Deutschland weiter. Grosz und Max Ernst hatten das Land schon vor dem Nationalsozialismus verlassen, andere emigrierten später: Beckmann, Kokoschka, Klee.

Viele hielten sich hauptsächlich im Ausland auf (Peiffer Watenphul z.B.), und andere, wie Dix, lebten sehr still auf dem Lande.

Für die Künstler der älteren modernen Kunst, die bereits geformt waren und ihr künstlerisches Gesicht hatten, war die Zeit schwierig, aber erträglich. Katastrophal war sie für die Jungen und die Lernenden, die völlig abgeschlossen von der Welt lebten, nicht wußten, was draußen gearbeitet wurde, und nie ein modernes Kunstwerk zu sehen bekamen.

Natürlich war das Interesse für die deutsche Kunst, die so lange hinter einer Art eisernem Vorhang gelebt hatte und nun endlich wieder auf einer Veranstaltung wie der Biennale erscheinen durfte, bei dem internationalen kunstinteressierten Publikum sehr groß. Was hatten die deutschen Künstler in der Zwischenzeit geleistet? Wo stand die Jugend?

Leider war die Enttäuschung über die deutsche Abteilung auf der Biennale dann aber recht groß, denn man fand zwar die meisten bekannten Namen, neben einigen Jungen, vertreten, fand aber, daß sie absolut nicht standhielten gegenüber dem übrigen hohen Niveau der Ausstellung. Dies ist recht bedauerlich, aber wohl weniger auf die momentanen Leistungen der deutschen Künstler zurückzuführen als auf ganz andere Dinge. Die deutschen Kunstwerke wurden in letzter Minute eiligst zusammengebracht. Dazu kamen Transportschwierigkeiten, Beschränkung der Formate und andere Komplikationen. Die deutsche Abteilung kann aber auf keinen Fall als eine Übersicht über das gelten, was in Deutschland in den letzten Jahren gearbeitet worden ist. Außerdem fehlen einige sehr wichtige Namen (Nolde, Beckmann, Kirchner z. B.). Andere, die früher als Repräsentanten deutscher Kunst angesehen wurden, sind gesondert gehängt (Klee, Kokoschka). Andere, die in Italien leben (Peiffer Watenphul, Bargheer), hängen auch nicht in der deutschen Abteilung.

So gibt also der deutsche Raum absolut keinen richtigen Eindruck der deutschen Kunst der letzten fünfzehn Jahre. Dix ist sehr schwach vertreten, desgleichen Hofer, Pechstein und Heckel.

Die mittlere Generation fehlt fast völlig, und die ganz Jungen, die man gehängt hat, zeigen noch kein eigenes Gesicht und malen in der Nachfolge Klees, Picassos oder Max Ernsts. Genau so wie die jungen Maler in Buenos Aires, Rom, London, New York malen.

Sehr wichtig ist es, bei dieser Gelegenheit noch einmal auf den großen Einfluß des Bauhauses hinzuweisen (Klee, Kandinsky, Feininger lehrten unter anderen). Die Experimente, die 1921 dort von einem kleinen belächelten Kreise gemacht wurden, sind jetzt Allgemeingut geworden und fast populär (ich erinnere nur an die Stahlmöbel, die das Bauhaus propagierte, an die klaren, einfachen hellen Wände ohne Muster, an die ganz moderne Architektur).

Eine Sammlung wie die Sammlung Guggenheim und die Abteilung der jungen Italiener z. B. wirkt genau wie eine der damaligen Bauhausausstellungen mit den zahlreichen Experimenten der Schüler in Glas, Draht, Metall und anderen Materien und den verschiedenen Kompositionen und Abstraktionen. Aber was damals neuartig und einmalig war, wirkt heute vielfach leer und überholt, denn einmalige Dinge können nicht wiederholt werden. Die ersten Bilder von Klee und Picasso waren eine Tat, ein Wagnis und ein Abenteuer in unbekannte Gebiete. Die Wiederholung der Schüler und die Imitationen sind eine leere, wertlose Angelegenheit, die das Rad der Kunst nicht weiterdrehen werden.

In: Max Peiffer Watenphul. Werkverzeichnis. Bd. I. Hg. von Grace Watenphul Pasqualucci und Alessandra Pasqualucci, Köln 1993.