Max Peiffer Watenphul was a “lyric poet of painting” (Sabine Fehlemann). He stands in a tradition of German painters for whom the Italian landscape represented Arcadia: Adam Elsheimer, Johann Friedrich Overbeck, Julius Schnorr von Carolsfeld, and Hans von Marées.

Alongside southern landscapes, such as Venice, Ischia, Positano, and Corfu, the painter was particularly attached to Salzburg, which he depicted in a series of paintings. His many still lifes of flowers occupy an equally important place in his oeuvre.

The friends of the erstwhile student at the Bauhaus included Alexej von Jawlensky, Kurt Schwitters, Otto Dix, Oskar Schlemmer, Wassily Kandinsky, Oskar Kokoschka, and Hans Purrmann, as well as Stefan Zweig, Jean Cocteau, Ingeborg Bachmann, and Peggy Guggenheim. Max Peiffer Watenphul was in contact with his contemporaries Paul Klee, Johannes Itten, and Walter Gropius.

His extensive body of work encompasses, in addition to oil paintings, watercolors, drawings, enamel, textiles, graphic art, and photographs.

A selection of his most important works may be seen here:
Paintings | Watercolors | Drawings | Textiles | Graphic Art | Photography

An overview of his complete work is provided by the catalogue raisonné.

Max Peiffer Watenphul war ein »Lyriker der Malerei« (Sabine Fehlemann). Er steht in einer Reihe mit anderen deutschen Malern, für die die italienische Landschaft Arkadien darstellte: Adam Elsheimer, Johann Friedrich Overbeck, Julius Schnorr von Carolsfeld und Hans von Marées.

Neben südlichen Landschaften wie Venedig, Ischia, Positano und Korfu lag dem Maler ganz besonders Salzburg am Herzen, das er in einer Reihe von Bildern darstellte. Einen ebenso wichtigen Platz in seinem Œuvre nimmt die Vielzahl von Blumenstillleben ein.

Zu den Freunden des ehemaligen Bauhaus-Schülers zählten unter anderem Alexej Jawlensky, Kurt Schwitters, Otto Dix, Oskar Schlemmer, Wassily Kandinsky, Oskar Kokoschka und Hans Purrmann, aber auch Stefan Zweig, Jean Cocteau, Ingeborg Bachmann und Peggy Guggenheim. Max Peiffer Watenphul hatte Kontakt zu den Zeitgenossen Paul Klee, Johannes Itten und Walter Gropius.

Sein umfangreiches Werk umfasst neben den Ölgemälden ebenso Aquarelle, Zeichnungen, Emailarbeiten, Textilien, Druckgrafiken und Fotografien.

Eine Auswahl seiner wichtigsten Arbeiten ist hier zu sehen:
Gemälde | Aquarelle | Zeichnungen | Textilien | Druckgrafik | Fotografie

Einen Überblick über das gesamte Schaffen gibt das Werkverzeichnis.