1896–1910

Platzhalterbild
Max Peiffer Watenphul with his mother in Magdeburg, 1900
Max Peiffer Watenphul was born in Weferlingen, near Helmstedt, on September 1, 1896. The artist’s father, Karl Josef Emil Peiffer, was a typical Westphalian, tall and blond and an enthusiastic hunter. He came from a family of pharmacists in Neheim-Hüsten and he owned the pharmacy in Weferlingen. The artist’s mother Anna, née Kux, was from a Rhineland Huguenot family. She was a slender, very elegant woman with dark locks. On receiving news of the birth of their son and heir, grandfather Peiffer sent a telegram from his Westphalian home village of Neheim: “Have shot 160 partridges to celebrate the day.”

The Peiffer family’s professional tradition went back to a pharmacy in Balve in 1790. In 1832, the family founded a pharmacy in Neheim. It was called the Biber-Apotheke because it produced and sold a special salve made from beaver fat derived from beavers then still to be Platzhalterbild
The pharmacy in Neheim-Hüsten
found on the Ruhr river. Max was a delicate child, often sick. He was very close to his mother. A younger brother died in early infancy. The artist’s father became ill. The pharmacy had to be rented out, and the small family moved to the spa town of Wernigerode in the nearby Harz mountains, where the boy went to school.

The artist’s father died in 1903. His loss caused great pain to the boy, who would often speak of the loss, even in old age. When he was ten, his mother gave him a box of oil paints and Max began to paint: trees, gardens, and cemeteries. He was deeply impressed by Arnold Böcklin’s Isle of the Dead, and the painter’s works inspired his first painting Pan im Schilf (Pan in the Reeds). His mother remarried in 1906, taking as her second husband Dr. phil. Heinrich Watenphul. He was from Kreuznach an der Nahe, and was schoolmaster of the Quedlinburg Gymnasium, where the boy now was to go to school. Max’s half-brother Heinz Watenphul was born in 1907.

1896–1910

Platzhalterbild
Max Peiffer Watenphul mit seiner Mutter in Magdeburg, 1900
Max Peiffer Watenphul wurde am 1. September 1896 in Weferlingen bei Helmstedt geboren. Der Vater des Künstlers, Karl Josef Emil Peiffer, war ein typischer Westfale, groß, blond und ein begeisterter Jäger. Er stammte aus einer Apothekerfamilie in Neheim-Hüsten und besaß die Apotheke in Weferlingen. Die Mutter Anna, geborene Kux, kam aus einer Hugenottenfamilie aus dem Rheinland. Sie war eine schlanke, sehr elegante Frau mit dunklen Locken. Zur Geburt des Stammhalters schickte der Großvater aus der westfälischen Heimat Neheim ein Telegramm: »zur Feier des Tages 160 Rebhühner geschossen«.

Die berufliche Familientradition der Peiffers nahm ihren Anfang mit einer Apotheke in Balve im Jahr 1790. Im Jahr 1832 gründete die Familie eine Apotheke in Neheim, genannt Biber-Apotheke, weil dort eine besondere Salbe hergestellt und verkauft wurde, Platzhalterbild
Die Apotheke in Neheim-Hüsten
die man aus dem Fett der Biber gewann, welche damals noch an der Ruhr vorkamen. Max war ein zartes Kind und häufig krank. Er hing sehr an seiner Mutter. Ein kleiner Bruder starb noch in frühester Kindheit. Dann erkrankte der Vater, die Apotheke musste verpachtet werden, und die kleine Familie zog nach dem Kurort Wernigerode im nahen Harz, wo der Knabe die Schule besuchte.

Im Jahr 1903 starb der Vater, sein Verlust war ein großer Schmerz für den Jungen, er sprach noch oft im Alter davon. Als er zehn Jahre alt war, schenkte ihm die Mutter eine Schachtel mit Ölfarben, und Max begann zu malen: Bäume, Gärten und Friedhöfe. Er war tief beeindruckt von Böcklins Toteninsel, und sein erstes Bild Pan im Schilf war von diesem Maler inspiriert. Im Jahr 1906 heiratete die Mutter in zweiter Ehe Dr. phil. Heinrich Watenphul. Er stammte aus Kreuznach an der Nahe und war Oberlehrer am Gymnasium in Quedlinburg, wo der Junge nun die Schule besuchte. 1907 wurde sein Halbbruder Heinz Watenphul geboren.