1946–1957

Though he had always cherished the wish to be able to paint in Venice, it was initially very difficult for Peiffer Watenphul to depict Venice. He missed his accustomed landscape. As a German, it was impossible for him to exhibit. He had no financial success as a result and this to crises in his emotional and physical health. The 1948 Biennale, at which one of his paintings was shown, changed matters. In August of that year, Carlo Cardazzo organized Peiffer Watenphul’s first solo show at his Galleria del Cavallino in Venice. Friends organized the artist’s first postwar exhibitions in Germany in 1948, at the Kunstverein Braunschweig and Galerie Hella Nebelung in Düsseldorf. Peiffer Watenphul, who had gained a good command of the Italian language through his long stay on Ischia, began to take an interest in Italian literature during his Venice years, and read many modern Italian authors in the original. New German publications were regularly sent to him by friends in Germany. He was interested in all types of art: visual art, literature, music, ballet, film. Venice, with the Biennale and the Film Festival, was an important European cultural center in the postwar period, and it offered him manifold inspirations.

Platzhalterbild
Max Peiffer Watenphul with Jean Cocteau during the exhibition at the Galerie Nebelung, Düsseldorf, 1952
He was friends with several Italian painters, but in particular, Filippo De Pisis, Felice Carena, and Zoran Mušič. In Venice, he was also part of Peggy Guggenheim’s circle of friends.

Eberhard Hanfstaengl, Ernst Gosebruch, Alfred Salmony, Josef Hoffmann, Tut Schlemmer, Ludwig Curtius, Gerty von Hofmannsthal, Bernhard and Gundl Degenhart, Bert Bilzer, Jean Cocteau, and Stefan Andres visited Peiffer Watenphul in the lagoon city.

In 1949, Peiffer Watenphul made his first travels since the war to the south of Italy, to Rome, Naples, Caserta, Positano, and Capri. He spent an extended period on a country estate in Puccianello, near Caserta, staying with his sister’s friends. He went on to Naples and Positano, where he was awaited by Karli Sohn-Rethel, Kurt Craemer, and Stefan Andres.

Platzhalterbild
In Venice, 1954,
photograph: H. D. Marheineke
In April of 1950, he spent a month in Florence. Peiffer Watenphul received a passport in the autumn of 1951, and that enabled him to travel outside of Italy. His first trip was to Salzburg. The city made a studio available to the artist in the Künstlerhaus. Since it was small but very high up, he had a balcony built onto it on which he slept. The artist retained this studio until 1971. In January of 1952, after Salzburg, Peiffer Watenphul went to Essen, Dortmund, Wuppertal, and Braunschweig, and also to Zurich to see Chichio Haller. At her suggestion, he began to print color lithographs, a technique he soon mastered. His lithographic work encompasses more than one hundred pages. He created most of these for the Darmstadt academic publishers Arta, and for German art associations. The artist created one of his last lithographs for UNESCO in 1972, donated by the artist to help save San Bartolomeo in Venice, which had been the church of German merchants in the Middle Ages. In the spring of 1953, he had another extended stay in Paris, where he saw again Florence Henri and Daniel-Henry Kahnweiler. He returned thereafter to Venice by way of the south of France, with longer stops in Aix-en-Provence and Saint-Paul-de-Vence.

Platzhalterbild
Drawing on Ischia, 1956,
photograph: W. Bingel
Peiffer Watenphul returned to Ischia and southern Italy in 1954. He then made yearly visits to the island of Ischia, and to Positano. There, he had a large circle of friends, including Gilles, Purrmann, and Bargheer.

He made multiple trips to southern Italy in 1955. In March of 1956, he went with Klaus Gebhard to Morocco, including Tetouan, and Chaouen, to Tangiers, and to Spain. On these journeys, he painted the watercolors A 878 through A 888 as well as A 891 (illustration), all of which are now held by the Graphics Collection of the Pinakothek der Moderne in Munich. He was back on Ischia in May. The years on this island were especially happy and productive ones for the artist, and they witnessed the creation of his great southern landscapes.

Platzhalterbild
On Ischia with Hans Purrmann, Richard Parrisius, and Eduard Bargheer, 1956,
photograph: W. Bingel
Peiffer Watenphul spent some months in Salzburg every summer. There, he worked in the lithographic workshop of the Residenz, printing lithographs, with the assistance of Herbert Breiter and Rudolf Hradil who helped him lift the heavy stones. Peiffer Watenphul had many friends and admirers in Salzburg and his works were exhibited regularly at the city’s galleries.

He almost always spent Christmas in Venice. In April of 1957, he traveled to Apulia, Calabria, and Sicily. The artist acquired a small studio on the Via dei Greci in Rome in the fall of 1957.

1946–1957

Am Anfang war es sehr schwer für Peiffer Watenphul, Venedig zu gestalten, obwohl er immer den Wunsch gehegt hatte, dort malen zu können. Ihm fehlte die Landschaft, an die er gewöhnt war. Da es für ihn als Deutschen unmöglich war, seine Bilder auszustellen, blieb auch der finanzielle Erfolg aus, seelische und gesundheitliche Krisen waren die Folgen. Eine Wende trat ein, als 1948 auf der Biennale eines seiner Bilder gezeigt wurde. Im August desselben Jahres veranstaltete Carlo Cardazzo in seiner Galleria del Cavallino in Venedig die erste Einzelausstellung Peiffer Watenphuls. Die ersten Nachkriegsausstellungen in Deutschland, im Kunstverein Braunschweig und in der Galerie Hella Nebelung in Düsseldorf im Jahr 1948, wurden von Freunden organisiert. Peiffer Watenphul, der durch seinen langen Aufenthalt auf Ischia die italienische Sprache gut beherrschte, fing in den Jahren in Venedig an, sich für italienische Literatur zu interessieren, und las viele moderne italienische Schriftsteller in der Originalsprache. Die Neuerscheinungen in Deutschland wurden ihm regelmäßig von seinen dortigen Freunden zugesandt. Jede Art von Kunst interessierte ihn, ob bildende Kunst, Literatur, Musik, Ballett, Film; und Venedig, das in der Nachkriegszeit durch die Biennale und das Filmfestival kulturell ein wichtiges europäisches Zentrum war, bot ihm vielseitige Anregungen.

Platzhalterbild
Max Peiffer Watenphul mit Jean Cocteau während der Ausstellung in der Galerie Nebelung, Düsseldorf, 1952
Freundschaft verband ihn mit den italienischen Malern, vor allem Filippo De Pisis, Felice Carena und Zoran Music. Er gehörte in Venedig auch zum Freundeskreis von Peggy Guggenheim.

Wer in die Lagunenstadt kam, besuchte Peiffer Watenphul, Eberhard Hanfstaengl, Ernst Gosebruch, Alfred Salmony, Josef Hoffmann, Tut Schlemmer, Ludwig Curtius, Gertyx von Hofmannsthal, Bernhard und Gundl Degenhart, Bert Bilzer, Jean Cocteau, Stefan Andres.

Im Jahre 1949 machte Peiffer Watenphul die erste Nachkriegsreise in den Süden Italiens nach Rom, Neapel, Caserta, Positano und Capri. Er hielt sich für längere Zeit auf einem Landgut in Puccianello bei Caserta bei Freunden seiner Schwester auf. Danach fuhr er nach Neapel und Positano, wo ihn Karli Sohn-Rethel, Kurt Craemer und Stefan Andres erwarteten.

Platzhalterbild
In Venedig, 1954
Foto: H. D. Marheineke
Im April 1950 war er für einen Monat in Florenz. Im Herbst 1951 erhielt Peiffer Watenphul wieder einen Pass und konnte außerhalb Italiens reisen. Die erste Fahrt ging nach Salzburg. Die Stadt stellte dem Künstler ein Atelier im Salzburger Künstlerhaus zur Verfügung. Da es klein, aber sehr hoch war, ließ er sich oben einen Balkon einbauen, auf dem er schlief. Dieses Atelier blieb dem Künstler bis 1971 erhalten. Anschließend an den Salzburg-Aufenthalt fuhr Peiffer Watenphul im Januar 1952 nach Essen, Dortmund, Wuppertal und Braunschweig sowie nach Zürich zu Chichio Haller. Auf deren Anregung begann er dort, Farblithografien zu drucken, eine Technik, die er bald meisterhaft beherrschte. Sein lithografisches Werk umfasst mehr als hundert Blätter, die meisten schuf er im Auftrag der Arta, der Wissenschaftlichen Buchgesellschaften in Darmstadt, und deutscher Kunstvereine; eine der letzten Lithografien entstand 1972 im Auftrag der Unesco und wurde vom Künstler gestiftet zur Rettung von San Bartolomeo in Venedig, Kirche der deutschen Kaufleute im Mittelalter. Im Frühjahr 1953 besuchte er wieder einmal für längere Zeit Paris, wo er Florence Henri und Daniel-Henry Kahnweiler wiedersah. Anschließend reiste er über Südfrankreich nach Venedig zurück und hielt sich längere Zeit in Aix-en-Provence und Saint-Paul-de-Vence auf.

Platzhalterbild
Beim Zeichnen auf Ischia, 1956
Foto: Arch. W. Bingel
Im Jahre 1954 ging Peiffer Watenphul wieder nach Ischia und Süditalien. Von nun an besuchte er die Insel Ischia und Positano alljährlich, wo er einen großen Freundeskreis hatte, unter anderen Gilles, Purrmann und Bargheer.

1955 machte er mehrere Reisen nach Süditalien. Im März 1956 fuhr er mit Klaus Gebhard nach Marokko, Tetuan, Xauen, Tanger und nach Spanien. Auf dieser Reise entstanden die Aquarelle A 878 bis A 888 sowie A 891 Abbildung), die sich heute in der Graphischen Sammlung München befinden. Im Mai war er wieder auf Ischia. Die Jahre auf dieser Insel waren für den Künstler besonders glücklich und produktiv, es entstanden die großen südlichen Landschaften.

Platzhalterbild
Auf Ischia mit Hans Purrmann, Richard Parrisius und Eduard Bargheer, 1956
Foto: Arch. W. Bingel
Jeden Sommer verbrachte Peiffer Watenphul einige Monate in Salzburg. Er druckte dort in der lithografischen Werkstatt in der Residenz seine Lithografien mithilfe von Herbert Breiter oder Rudolf Hradil, die ihm dabei halfen, die schweren Druckplatten zu heben. In Salzburg hatte Peiffer Watenphul sehr viele Freunde und Bewunderer, und seine Werke waren regelmäßig in den dortigen Galerien ausgestellt.

Weihnachten verbrachte er fast immer in Venedig. Im April 1957 reiste er nach Apulien, Kalabrien und Sizilien. Im Herbst 1957 erwarb der Künstler ein kleines Atelier in Rom, in der Via dei Greci.