1943–1946

Peiffer Watenphul began teaching at the Kunstgewerbeschule (School of Arts and Crafts) in Salzburg on September 1, 1943. He had many students, and he became the spiritual figure-head for a circle of young artists, including Agnes Muthspiel, Herbert Breiter, Rudolf Hradil, and Poldi Schöghofer. He was on friendly terms with Eduard Bäumer, with whom he collaborated on projects, took excursions into the countryside, and in whose studio he did nude drawing.

Platzhalterbild
On the Mönchsberg,
photograph: Ilse Luke

While in Salzburg from 1943 until 1946, Peiffer Watenphul created numerous paintings and watercolors of the city and its surroundings. In Salzburg, he painted like a madman, as though making up for the lost time of the three years in Krefeld during which he could not paint.

Yet, in spite of Peiffer Watenphul’s popularity and his achievements as an artist, things became difficult for him as a German artist in Austria. He was refused a residence permit. Under these circumstances, he suffered emotionally to such an extent that he resolved to leave Austria and go to Venice, where his sister Grace lived. With no papers, on an icy autumn night in 1946, he followed a guide over the mountains to South Tyrol and from there to Venice, where he lived for the next twelve years.

1943–1946

In Salzburg übernahm Peiffer Watenphul am 1.September 1943 eine Lehrtätigkeit an der Kunstgewerbeschule. Er hatte viele Schüler und wurde zum geistigen Mittelpunkt eines Kreises von jungen Künstlern, darunter Agnes Muthspiel, Herbert Breiter, Rudolf Hradil und Poldi Schöghofer. Freundschaftlich verbunden war er mit Eduard Bäumer, mit dem er zusammen arbeitete, Ausflüge in die Umgebung machte und in dessen Atelier er Akt zeichnete.

Platzhalterbild
Auf dem Mönchsberg
Foto: Ilse Luke

Während der Jahre in Salzburg 1943 bis 1946 schuf Peiffer Watenphul zahlreiche Gemälde und Aquarelle von der Stadt und ihrer Umgebung. In Salzburg malte er wie besessen, als müsste er die drei in Krefeld verbrachten Jahre, in denen er nicht malen konnte, wieder einholen.

Aber trotz der Beliebtheit Peiffer Watenphuls und seiner Verdienste als Künstler nahmen für ihn als deutschen Maler die Schwierigkeiten zu. Man verweigerte ihm die Aufenthaltserlaubnis. Er litt seelisch unter diesen Zuständen so sehr, dass er sich entschloss, Österreich zu verlassen und nach Venedig zu gehen, wo seine Schwester Grace wohnte. Ohne Papiere ging er mit einem Führer in einer eisigen Herbstnacht 1946 über die Berge nach Südtirol und von dort nach Venedig, wo er zwölf Jahre blieb.