1931–1936

Platzhalterbild
In Rome, 1934
Max Peiffer Watenphul concluded his teaching at the Folkwangschule in Essen on April 1, 1931. He was awarded the Prize of Rome the same year.

The Prize of Rome was accompanied by a nine months’ residency at the Villa Massimo in Rome. Peiffer Watenphul arrived in Rome on October 1, 1931. At the German Academy in Rome at the time were Karl Rössing, Uli Nimptsch, Ernst Wilhelm Nay, Werner Gilles, and Fritz Rhein. Max Peiffer Watenphul became acquainted with Ludwig Curtius, Bernhard Degenhart, and Eckart Peterich. He became friends with Maria Grassi, who was from Heidelberg and whose husband was the Italian senator Giovanni Grassi, who had discovered that malaria was transmitted by the Anopheles mosquito. The director of the German Academy at the Villa Massimo was Herbert Gericke, whom Peiffer Waterphul would see again after the war in Florence and in Rome. The extended residency in Rome, free from financial concerns, was auspicious for Peiffer Watenphul’s art, and numerous paintings, watercolors, and photographs were the result. The artist spent July of 1932 in Gaeta, a harbor town southeast of Rome, together with Karl Rössing, Rössing’s wife Erika, and his sister Grace. That summer he returned to Hattingen an der Ruhr.

1933 and 1934 were happy years for the artist. Apart from some trips to Berlin and Paris, he was mostly at his parents’ house in Hattingen. The large garden, with its beautiful flowers, was his joy, and the paintings of flowers that came about during those years are an expression of a merry, carefree time. Many of the artist’s friends came to visit.

Platzhalterbild
Flower Still Life, 1933

In January and February of 1933, he was in Berlin, where he sought to organize an exhibition and sold his photographs to various publishers. The artist went with Walter Lindgens to the Wadden Sea in June of that year, and then to Bremen. Peiffer Watenphul received the Carnegie Prize for his Flower Still Life (G 193) in 1933.

Peiffer Watenphul was back in Rome from the autumn of 1933 to May of 1934.

The artist’s difficulties in Germany began in 1935 when he was living a secluded life in Hattingen. There, in 1935 and 1936, the artist created German landscapes, paintings of industry, and flower still lifes (illustration). Peiffer Watenphul described this in an unpublished letter from Hattingen to Maria Cyrenius in May of 1937: “Of late, I have made such beautiful works. Flowers, but prettier than ever. And infinitely more painterly. Here, in fact, painting is the only thing that I have in life.”

He spent March of 1936 with his sister Grace in Latina. Afterward, he traveled with Klaus Gebhard to Sorrento, Capri, and Ischia, where he spent an extended period. He continued on to Sicily in November and December of 1936, visiting Palermo, Catania, and Agrigent.

1931–1936

Platzhalterbild
In Rom, 1934
Am 1. April 1931 beendete Max Peiffer Watenphul seine Lehrtätigkeit an der Folkwangschule in Essen. In diesem Jahr wurde ihm der Rompreis verliehen.

Die Verleihung des Rompreises war mit einem neunmonatigen Aufenthalt an der Villa Massimo in Rom verbunden. Am 1. Oktober 1931 kam Peiffer Watenphul nach Rom. An der Akademie befanden sich zur selben Zeit Karl Rössing, Uli Nimptsch, Ernst Wilhelm Nay, Werner Gilles und Fritz Rhein. Max Peiffer Watenphul machte die Bekanntschaft von Ludwig Curtius, Bernhard Degenhart und Eckart Peterich. Freundschaft verband ihn mit der aus Heidelberg stammenden Maria Grassi, Frau des Senators Sebastiano Grassi, der die Anophelesmücke entdeckt hatte, die die Malaria übertrug. Direktor der Deutschen Akademie Villa Massimo war damals Herbert Gericke, den der Künstler in der Nachkriegszeit in Florenz und später in Rom wiedersah. Der längere Aufenthalt in Rom ohne finanzielle Sorgen wirkte sich günstig auf die Kunst Peiffer Watenphuls aus. Es entstanden zahlreiche Gemälde, Aquarelle und Fotografien. Im Juli 1932 ging der Künstler für einen Monat nach Gaeta, eine Hafenstadt südöstlich von Rom, zusammen mit dem Ehepaar Karl und Erika Rössing und seiner Schwester Grace. Im Sommer kehrte er nach Hattingen an der Ruhr zurück.

1933 und 1934 waren für den Künstler zwei glückliche Jahre, während deren er sich meistens in seinem Elternhaus in Hattingen aufhielt, abgesehen von einigen Reisen nach Berlin und Paris. Der große Garten mit seinen schönen Blumen war seine Freude, und die Blumenbilder, die in diesen Jahren entstanden, sind ein Ausdruck dieser heiteren, sorglosen Zeit. Viele Freunde des Künstlers kamen zu Besuch.

Platzhalterbild
Blumenstilleben, 1933

Im Januar und Februar 1933 war er in Berlin, wo er sich um eine Ausstellung bemühte und seine Fotografien an verschiedene Verlage verkaufte. Im Juni dieses Jahres war der Künstler mit Walter Lindgens am Wattenmeer und später in Bremen. 1933 erhielt Peiffer Watenphul für das Blumenstillleben (G 193) den Carnegie-Preis.

Vom Herbst 1933 bis Mai 1934 war Peiffer Watenphul wieder in Rom.

1935 begannen für den Künstler der zu dieser Zeit zurückgezogen in Hattingen lebte, die Schwierigkeiten in Deutschland. In den Jahren 1935/1936 in Hattingen entstanden die deutschen Landschaften, die Industriebilder und Blumenstillleben (Abbildung) . Dazu Peiffer Watenphul in einem unveröffentlichten Brief an Maria Cyrenius aus Hattingen vom Mai 1937: »Ich habe so schöne Arbeiten neu gemacht. Blumen, aber schöner denn je. Und unendlich viel malerischer. Malen ist auch das einzige, was ich hier im Leben habe.«

Den März 1936 verbrachte er bei seiner Schwester Grace in Latina. Danach reiste er mit Klaus Gebhard nach Sorrent, Capri und Ischia, wo er sich länger aufhielt. Im November und Dezember 1936 ging es nach einer Zeit in Sizilien weiter zu einem Besuch von Palermo, Catania und Agrigent.